Alicante Announced as an Ocean Race Europe Stop

Sail News

The Ocean Race Europe, a new event in offshore sailing, will include Alicante as one of four stopover cities. This European offshoot of the former Volvo Ocean Race will include the biggest change to the racing rules under the new title—fully crewed IMOCA 60s will join the one-design VO65 class. This will give spectators a taste of what’s to come in the full circumnavigation.

The European tour will begin in May and take an offshore lap of the Iberian Peninsula. The race will begin in Lorient, France; stop in Cascais, Portugal; then Alicante; and conclude in Genoa, Italy.

“The Ocean Race Europe will give continuity to the activities organized in Alicante,” said Antonio Rodes, General Director of ‘Sociedad Proyectos Temáticos’ of the Valencian Region. “We are very excited that Alicante, the current headquarters of The Ocean Race and the home of The Ocean Race Museum, will host the penultimate stop of this new event, The Ocean Race Europe.”


Alicante, which was the final addition to the schedule, has been The Ocean Race’s hometown since 2008. It will remain as the starting point for The Ocean Race, which will begin in October 2022 and make the following 11 stops:

Alicante, Spain
Cabo Verde
Cape Town, South Africa
Shenzhen, China
Auckland, New Zealand
Itajaí, Brazil
Newport, RI, USA
Aarhus, Denmark
The Hague, Netherlands
Genoa, Italy

There are currently eight VO65 teams and fourteen IMOCA 60 teams registered for The Ocean Race, including teams from Mexico, Brazil, Poland, China, Holland, Italy, Lithuania, France, Spain, Germany, The United States and Great Britain.

For more, visit

April 2021

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

sailing tutorials
Flame Bow Killbox – Short RimWorld Guide for Defense [1.4+]
F1 Cribs. Daniel Ricciardo’s Motorhome for Europe
Personal Locator Beacon Wins Top Design Award
The Extraordinary Life and Mysterious Disappearance of Thomas Thor Tangvald

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *